the write way

kenneth.pngI was meant to write every day here…but oh look, it’s a one-week gap? I’ll try to continue regardless. The top posts on this blog are still my film entries from 2012 – I mean, I truly had time on my hands to write a pretty decent essay that wasn’t for uni. Gosh, I do miss those days. I think I want to continue honing my writing skills, I miss writing reviews/film criticism. It takes time, admittedly and I think it’s a genre of writing that’s often overlooked. I still tend to google reviews of shows before/after I’ve watched them. It’s a sense of satisfaction I get when I agree with a review, or even disagree – that comes with a reinforcement of my own opinion of whatever I’ve just watched/read/listened to. I’ll continue!! I haven’t grown much in the past five years, honestly, perhaps horizontally, and also a slight shift in my music taste. Some pop culture things of I’ve been into as of late:

  • I binged part 2 of Terrace House: Aloha State – I’m obsessed. Can I take home a Taneshi, please? I’m determined to have a Terrace House itinerary of all the places to eat/visit from BIGITC when I’m in Tokyo in July ^^
  • Really digging Gorillaz, really glad that I get to see them live @ Fuji Rock, I feel generally lucky/an absolute privilege when I think about the lineup for Fuji Rock tbh
  • Cool podcast to recommend: Missing Richard Simmons – I just rely on my long-time faves for podcasts (i.e. The Bugle and This American Life), so it’s always nice to be pleasantly surprised when you take a gamble…on a podcast (wow could I sound more bourgeois?)
Leave a comment

