On old photos

What is the appeal in #ThrowbackThursdays? Why is so enthralling to comb through old photos and see how far we’ve come and look at past memories with a particular fondness? Why is nostlagia so hypnotic and inviting? I found myself in a good 20 min deep dive into old photos after encountering these mac booth selfies:

I remember in uni, I loved taking mac booth selfies. Maybe this was ‘cos I didn’t have an iPhone back then, I had a crappy Sony smartphone that – shocker – did not have a front-facing camera. I hardly ever shared selfies of myself, maybe on a “secret” tumblr and on the short-lived dailybooth. But I took mac selfies as a way of private, fun me-time. I like that one of my fave poses was with my mac on my bed and me, sitting on the floor, taking a photo. You can see my messy room in the background. I don’t think I can pull off bangs anymore. I feel more comfortable with glasses now. Fuck, I’ve had these glasses for three years now. I need new ones.

Leave a comment

